MANHEIM TOWNSHIP SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS MEETING

District Office May 9, 2019 7:00 p.m.

MINUTES

Nikki Rivera, President, called the Board Meeting of the Manheim Township Board of School Directors to order at 7:00 p.m. School directors present were Mark Anderson, Janet Carroll, Stephen Grosh, JoAnn Hentz, Curtis Holgate, William Murry, Nikki Rivera, John Smith and Joyce Stephens. Also present were Dr. Robin Felty, Superintendent and Jennifer Davidson, Board Secretary.

Absences:

Visitors present are recorded in the official school board guest book. A quorum was present, and due notice had been published.

Announcements

- The final Board of Commissioners shared meeting will be held Tuesday, May14th.
- Lancaster Lebanon IU13 2019 Election Ballots were distributed. Please return this evening to Mrs. Davidson
- Mrs. Rivera discussed the importance of digital copies as opposed to hard copies. Thanked the district for continuing to move forward to saving the need for excessive hard copies.
- Mrs. Rivera thanked the Administration for working through the policy revisions, changes and workflow.
- Community Conversations will be held this Saturday from 10AM-12PM at the District Office. Mrs. Carroll and Mrs. Stephens will be in attendance.

Presentations:

- Mr. Darkey gave an update on the Middle School Project.
- Dr. Felty gave a follow-up on the Demographic Study that was presented last month.
- Mrs. Robbins presented the proposed final budget for 2019-20.
- Dr. Felty shared the April Bus Driver updates.

Discussion Items – no action taken at this meeting

- Approve the Proposed Final 2019-20 General Fund Budget
- Approve the Lancaster County Academy Proposed Budget for 2019-20
- Approve financial institutions for investment transactions during the 2019-20 school year
- Approve participation in cooperative purchasing agreements as listed
- Recommend approval to appoint the Chief Operating Officer as Manheim Township School Board Treasurer, effective July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2020 for a one-year term. There is no compensation for this position.
- Approve the resolution appointing the Chief Operating Officer as the district tax collector for the 2019-20 school year.
- Approve the contract with River Rock Academy
- Approve the list of graduates for the 2018-19 school year.
- First reading of the following policies with final approval in June:

Policy 602 – Budget Planning

Policy 603 – Budget Preparation

Policy 604 – Budget Adoption

Policy 605 – Tax Levy

Policy 606 – Tax Collection Policy 606.1 – Delinquent Taxes-Attorneys' Fees – ELIMINATE Policy 607 – Tuition Income Policy 608 – Bank Accounts Policy 609 – Investment of District Funds Policy 610 – Purchases Subject to Bid/Quotation Policy 611 – Purchases Budgeted Policy 612 – Expenses Not Budgeted Policy 613 – Cooperative Purchasing Policy 235.2 - Surveys Second reading and final approval of the following policies: Policy 103 - Nondiscrimination/Discriminatory Harassment - School and Classroom **Practices** Policy 103.1 – Nondiscrimination – Qualified Students with Disabilities Policy 104 – Nondiscrimination/Discriminatory Harassment – Employee Practices Policy 330 – Overtime Policy 331 – Job Related Expenses Policy 332 – Working Periods Policy 333 – Professional Development Policy 334 – Sick Leave Policy 335 – Family and Medical Leaves Policy 336 – Personal Necessity Leave Policy 337 – Vacation Policy 338 – Sabbatical Leave Policy 338.1 – Compensated Professional Leaves Policy 339 – Uncompensated Leave Policy 340 – Responsibility for Student Welfare Policy 341 – Benefits for Part-Time Employees Policy 342 – Jury Duty Policy 343 – Paid Holidays Policy 346 – Workers' Compensation – ELIMINATE Policy 351 – Drug and Substance Abuse Policy 707 – Use of School Facilities Policy 904 – Public Attendance at School Events Courtney Morton spoke regarding the Early Learning Center; encouragement of a Task Force. Mr. Anderson moved and Mr. Murry seconded a motion to adjourn the meeting at approximately 9:04 pm. Voice vote with all members present voting aye. Motion carried. Nikki Rivera, President Jennifer R. Davidson, Secretary

Citizens'

Comments

Adjournment