MANHEIM TOWNSHIP SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS

Organization Meeting Minutes
District Office
December 3, 2018
7:00 p.m.

MINUTES

Nikki Rivera, President, called the Board Meeting of the Manheim Township Board of School Directors to order at 7:01 p.m. School directors present were Mark Anderson, Janet Carroll, Steve Grosh, JoAnn Hentz, Curtis Holgate, William Murry, John Smith, and Joyce Stephens. Also present were Dr. Robin Felty, Superintendent; Dr. Dale Reimann, Assistant Superintendent; Donna Robbins, Chief Operating Officer; Dr. Karen Nell, Director of Curriculum and Instruction; Kate Heintzelman, Human Resources Director, Tony Aldinger, Director of Instructional Technology; and Jennifer Davidson, Board Secretary.

Absent:

Visitors present are recorded in the official school board guest book. A quorum was present, and due notice had been published.

Announcements	 Mrs. Rivera recognized Mr. Carravella and members of the orchestra who provided music before the board meeting. Mrs. Bash introduced the November Employee of the Month: Terri Sies, paraeducator at Neff Elementary School Mrs. Bash introduced the Neff Elementary Students
Roll Call Vote	Mrs. Rivera announced that unless otherwise stated, each vote taken at this meeting will be considered a roll call vote and the secretary will record any negative votes or abstentions.
Election of Temporary President	Mrs. Rivera called for nominations for a Temporary President, according to School Code 402, Policy 005.

Member List

Mr. Grosh announced the 2018/19 Membership List of Board of School Directors as directed by School Code 402, Policy 005:

On motion by Mr. Anderson and seconded by Mrs. Carroll to accept the nomination of Steve Grosh as Temporary President. Motion passes 9-0.

- Mr. Mark Anderson, holdover
- Mrs. Janet Carroll, holdover
- Mr. Steve Grosh, holdover
- Mrs. JoAnn Hentz, holdover
- Mr. Curtis Holgate, holdover
- Mr. William Murry, holdover
- Mrs. Nikki Rivera, holdover
- Dr. John Smith, holdover
- Mrs. Joyce Stephens, holdover

Election of President

Mr. Murry moved and Mr. Grosh seconded the nomination for Mr. Mark Anderson.

Mrs. Hentz moved and Mrs. Carroll seconded the nomination for Mrs. Nikki Rivera. Mr. Anderson moved and Mr. Murry seconded to close the nominations. Motion carries 9-0. By a voice vote of 6-3, Mrs. Nikki Rivera has been approved as the School Board President. Motion carries. Voting was as follows: Votes for Mr. Mark Anderson – Mark Anderson, Stephen Grosh, William Murry. Votes for Mrs. Nikki Rivera – John Smith, Janet Carroll, Nikki Rivera, Joyce Stephens, JoAnn Hentz, Curtis Holgate. Mr. Anderson moved and Mrs. Carroll seconded the nomination of Mr. Steve Grosh as Vice President of the Board of School Directors. There were no other nominations. On motion by Mr. Anderson and seconded by Mrs. Stephens, the nominations were closed. Voice vote with all members present voting ay 9-0. Motion carries. On motion by Mr. Anderson and seconded by Mr. Grosh, the school board voted 9-0 to approve that all meetings be conducted in accordance with school board policy. Mr. Anderson moved and Mr. Murry seconded that the regular meetings be held on the third Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. with the exception of July and December, and that regular workshops will be held on the second Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m., with the exception of July and December. Voice vote with all members present voting aye (9-0). Motion carries.

Manheim Township Citizens' Comments

There were no citizen comments at this time.

Adjourn to Work Session

Election of Vice President

School Board Meetings

Meeting Dates

The business of organization being concluded, Mr. Steve Grosh moved and Mrs. Janet Carroll seconded the motion to adjourn the Organization Meeting at 7:24 p.m.

Voice vote with all members present voting aye. Motion carried.