# MANHEIM TOWNSHIP SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS

Work Session Meeting Minutes
District Office
August 9, 2018
7:00 p.m.

## MINUTES

Nikki Rivera, President, called the Board Meeting of the Manheim Township Board of School Directors to order at 7:00 p.m. School directors present were Mark Anderson, Janet Carroll, Stephen Grosh, JoAnn Hentz, Curtis Holgate, William Murry, Nikki Rivera, John Smith, and Joyce Stephens. Also present were Dr. Robin Felty, Superintendent; Dr. Dale Reimann, Assistant Superintendent; Donna Robbins, Chief Operating Officer; Dr. Karen Nell, Director of Curriculum and Instruction; Kate Heintzelman, Human Resources Director, Tony Aldinger, Director of Instructional Technology; and Jennifer Davidson, Board Secretary.

#### Absent:

Visitors present are recorded in the official school board guest book. A quorum was present, and due notice had been published.

#### **Announcements**

- The Board of School Directors of the Manheim Township School District held an Executive Session before this evening's Board Work Session to discuss the employment, appointment, termination of employment, terms and conditions of employment, evaluation of performance, promotion or disciplining of specific prospective public officers or employees or current public officers or employees employees employees or current public officers or employees.
- Welcome back to Manheim Township staff
- Mrs. Rivera recognized Mr. Dierolf and the Food Services staff for a successful summer feed program.
- Mrs. Rivera thanked the District Office staff for stepping in and collecting district taxes. Mr. Anderson discussed the additional expense and staffing required by the district.
- Mrs. Rivera thanked the Facilities Team of Mr. Anderson, Mr.
   Murry and Mrs. Stephens for attending meetings over the summer.
- Thank you to the School Board for completing the Saturday Community Conversations document. The information will be provided to the public soon.
- Welcome to our new student representative, Zack Brubaker.

# **Presentation Only**

• Mr. Colestock gave a Middle School Project Update

#### **Action Item**

• On motion by Mr. Murry and seconded by Mrs. Carroll to award the Middle School Site Contract to Horst Excavating; the firm with the low bid meeting specifications and alternate(s) No. 1, 2 & 3 for a total project cost of \$7,814,721.00. Motion passes 9-0.

### **Discussion Items – no action**

Award Board Liaison Assignments

#### taken at this meeting

- Approve the Resolution appointing the Chief Operating Officer as the district tax collector for the 2018-19 school year
- Approve the 2018-2022 Comprehensive Plan
- Approval of Independent Contractor Agreement with Lancaster Lebanon IU13 (IU13) to provide meals for the 2018-19 school year
- Approve entering into an agreement with the Lancaster-Lebanon Intermediate Unit 13 (IU13) for Title I & Title IIA services to be provided by the IU13 to applicable nonpublic school students and eligible nonpublic schools under our Title I & Title IIA Federal Program during the 2018-19 school year
- Approve the Lancaster General Health Occupational Medicine Department Random Drug Testing Pool Agreement for the 2018-19 school year. Provide guidance to the administration on whether to continue with randomly testing 10 students per month, or increasing to 15 students per month
- Approve under enrolled courses for the 2018-19 school year
- Second reading and final approval of the following policies:

Policy 625 – Procurement Cards

Policy 115 – Career and Technical Education

Policy 116 – Tutoring

Policy 117 – Homebound

Policy 118 – Independent Study

Policy 119 – Current Events

Policy 121 – Field Trips

Policy 122 – Extracurricular Activities

Policy 122.1 – Student Activity Fee

Policy 123 – Interscholastic Athletics

Policy 123.1 – Concussion Management

Policy 123.2 – Sudden Cardiac Arrest

# Manheim Township Citizens' comments

No comments

# Adjournment

Mr. Murry moved and Mr. Anderson seconded a motion to adjourn the meeting at approximately 8:14 PM

Voice vote with all members present voting aye. Motion carried.

Nikki Rivera, President
Jennifer Davidson, Board Secretary