MANHEIM TOWNSHIP SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS

Organization Meeting Minutes Schaeffer Elementary School December 4, 2017 7:00 p.m.

MINUTES

Mark Anderson, President, called the Board Meeting of the Manheim Township Board of School Directors to order at 6:59 p.m. School directors present were Mark Anderson, Janet Carroll, Steve Grosh, JoAnn Hentz, Curtis Holgate, William Murry, Nikki Rivera, John Smith, and Joyce Stephens. Also present were Dr. Robin Felty, Superintendent; Dr. Dale Reimann, Assistant Superintendent; Donna Robbins, Chief Operating Officer; Dr. Karen Nell, Director of Curriculum and Instruction; Kate Heintzelman, Human Resources Director, Tony Aldinger, Director of Instructional Technology; and Jennifer Davidson, Board Secretary.

Absent:

Visitors present are recorded in the official school board guest book. A quorum was present, and due notice had been published.

٨	n	n	Λ	 10	en	no	'n	to
\boldsymbol{A}	ш	ш	4 8 1	14.	ei.	пе		

- The December Board Meeting will be held on December 14th at the District Office Board Room beginning at 7:00 p.m.
- Congratulations to the High School Football team and Coach Mark Evans for their outstanding football season.

Roll Call Vote

Mr. Anderson announced that unless otherwise stated, each vote taken at this meeting will be considered a roll call vote and the secretary will record any negative votes or abstentions.

Election of Temporary President

Mr. Anderson called for nominations for a Temporary President, according to School Code 402, Policy 005.

On motion by Mr. Anderson and seconded by Mr. Murry to accept the nomination of Steve Grosh as Temporary President. Motion passes 9-0.

Presentation of Certificate of Elections

Mr. Grosh presented the County Board of Elections of Lancaster County Certificate of Elections to the new board members: Mrs. Janet Carrol – two-year term; Mrs. JoAnn Hentz – two-year term; Curtis Holgate – four-year term; Nikki Rivera – four-year term; John R. Smith – four-year term; and Joyce Stephens – four-year term.

Mr. Grosh administered the Oath of Office for all new Board Members.

Member List

Mr. Grosh announced the 2017/18 Membership List of Board of School Directors as directed by School Code 402, Policy 005:

- Mr. Mark Anderson, holdover
- Mrs. Janet Carroll, elected
- Mr. Steve Grosh, holdover
- Mrs. JoAnn Hentz, elected
- Mr. Curtis Holgate, elected
- Mr. William Murry, holdover

- Mrs. Nikki Rivera, elected
- Dr. John Smith, elected
- Mrs. Joyce Stephens, elected

Election of President

Dr. John Smith moved and Mrs. Joyce Stephens seconded the nomination for Mrs. Nikki Rivera.

Mr. William Murry moved and Mr. Steve Grosh seconded the nomination for Mr. Mark Anderson.

Mrs. JoAnn Hentz moved and Mr. Mark Anderson seconded to close the nominations. Motion carries 9-0.

By a voice vote of 6-3, Mrs. Nikki Rivera has been approved as the School Board President. Motion carries. Voting was as follows: Votes for Mr. Mark Anderson – Mark Anderson, Stephen Grosh, William Murry. Votes for Mrs. Nikki Rivera – John Smith, Janet Carroll, Nikki Rivera, Joyce Stephens, JoAnn Hentz, Curtis Holgate.

Election of Vice President

Mrs. Janet Carroll moved and Mr. William Murry seconded the nomination of Mr. Steve Grosh as Vice President of the Board of School Directors for the 2017-18 term. There were no other nominations. On motion by Mr. Murry and seconded by Mr. Anderson, the nominations were closed.

Voice vote with all members present voting ay 9-0. Motion carries.

School Board Meetings

On motion by Mrs. Janet Carroll and seconded by Mr. Mark Anderson, the school board voted 9-0 to approve that all meetings be conducted in accordance with school board policy.

Meeting Dates

Mr. Bill Murry moved and Mr. Steve Grosh seconded that the regular meetings be held on the third Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. with the exception of July and December, and that regular workshops will be held on the second Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m., with the exception of July and December.

Voice vote with all members present voting aye (9-0). Motion carries.

Board Committee Assignments

Mr. Steve Gorsh moved and Mr. Mark Anderson seconded to approve the list of Board Committee Assignments. By a vote of 9-0, motion carries.

Board Partner School Assignments

Mr. Steve Grosh moved and Mr. Mark Anderson seconded approval of the list of Board Partner School assignments. By a voice vote of 9-0, motion carries.

Manheim Township Citizens' Comments

There were no citizen comments at this time.

Adjourn to Work Session

The business of organization being concluded, Mr. Steve Grosh moved and Mrs. Janet Carroll seconded the motion to adjourn the Organization Meeting at 7:19 p.m.

Voice vote with all members present voting aye. Motion carried.

 era, President